Hallmark, Eat your Heart Out.

I think we’re all aware that the card industry can be slightly ridiculous with the cards they produce. Cards that are just waiting to be scooped up by the ever-so-eager consumer dying to drop the $5.95 they have burning in their pocket. 

Somewhere along the line, the card companies convinced us that it was a GREAT! idea to buy cards that celebrate getting one’s braces off, Tuesday, or a “just because” card.  Really? “Just Because?” 

Dear So-and-So,

Here’s a card that cost me the equivalent of a meal at Tim Horton’s,   Just Because.                        

“Just Because what” you ask?  Well, I haven’t quite figured that part out yet, but it seemed like a GREAT! idea at the time, so here’s your card.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                          Karmyn

Anway, as I was beginning to say, in all my years of giving and receiving cards, I have  yet to come across one quite as unique as this one.  As Rebecca and I were shopping in Chinatown yesterday, we came across a card that I don’t think would quite take off in our mainstream market.  It did, however, make me laugh out loud.  Like really, a good hearty chuckle.  So much so, that I thought I should take a quick picture.  I apologize for the extreme blurry-ness of it.  I was performing a covert operation as I wasn’t really allowed to take pictures in the store, so I had to do it behind the card stand really quickly and without a flash.

In case you can’t read that it says: “Just a word about your successful diet…”

(On the inside it says Congratulations.)

I can’t really see this one taking off – it’s not so much up there with “Happy Birthday”.  You never know though, sometimes, you just need a card to help you find the words. 

3 thoughts on “Hallmark, Eat your Heart Out.

  1. Melissa says:

    The funniest card I’ve ever seen was one that Emily Laverty showed me — go figure. Anyway, it has a picture of some guys in a boat, ready to throw some fishing nets into the water. One of them is dancing around and playing those little finger cymbal thingies, a.k.a. castanets. Another of the men, who is evidently Jesus, is shouting “No, Peter, you idoiot! I said ‘Cast the Nets!'” Totally lame but, oh, it still makes me laugh just thinking about it.

  2. Karmyn says:

    That’s awesome. It reminds me of a card I saw once that had Lazarus on the front with his hands in the air exclaiming “I was DEAD I’m telling you! DEAD”

    The inside of the card said “There’s no real good excuse…happy belated birthday”.

    I laughed for quite some time over that one.

  3. Courtney says:

    I have to catch up on your blog – I just found it! But as I’m trying these, um, home remedies on my now BLACK hair, I feel so honored to be on your blog list… so consider yourself now added to mine 🙂 Isn’t that dooce blog hilarious? I use to read that all the time…

Leave a Reply

