Let’s discuss the Olympics shall we?

Well the Olympics have been on now for 14 days, and I feel as though it’s high time to acknowledge that fact on my blog here. Every 2 years, when the Olympics come around, I all of the sudden feel the need to spend every waking moment watching TV, trying to catch as much of the “magic” as possible. I feel a sense of urgency when I’m not watching, feeling like I’m missing the golden moment of the entire Olympic games.
Well this time around has been no different, although with no real channels at the place we’re staying, Ben and I have had to resort to the good ol’ internet feed to catch all the action.
Thankfully, between time at my parents, and the other houses we’ve been house sitting, we’ve managed to catch some of the bigger moments on an actual tv, as opposed to grainy, pixel-y computer screen action.

In the spirit of the games, I thought I’d just compile for you all a list of random thoughts I’ve had during these games:

  • Really China? Did you really think that we wouldn’t catch onto the fact that all of your female gymnasts are still probably in the 5th grade? I think what really tipped me off was the fact that gold medalist Kexin He signed all of her autographs with her crayons.
  • I wonder how long it would take Ben to have the same amount of ab muscles as Michael Phelps.? We should get started working on that one.
  • Hmm, day 3 of the Olympics and still no Canadian medals. Ahh well, I’m sure tomorrow will be our big day.
  • Although I realize that all the “race walkers” can clearly walk 10 k faster than I’ll ever be able to run it, I still feel no remorse at mocking this sport. Reasons why:
  1. They look ridiculous
  2. There’s something about having an Olympic Medal in walking that kind of loses it for me. I mean really, if you were the champion of that sport and did what many Olympians do in getting a tattoo of the Olympics…it would have the 5 olympic rings, and then a stick figure, representing the sport, with really disjointed hips.
  3. When was the last time you say the Olympic Gold Medalist for race walking on a wheaties box?
  • Oh wow…it’s day 6 already. What’s that Canada? No medals yet? Oh that’s cool, day 7 feels like a lucky one if you ask me.
  • Oh hey Michael Phelps, how does it feel to have more medals than our entire country?
  • There’s something about watching the Olympics that gives me the illusion that I could probably do that too. When I watch the swimming races, I am just itching to get into a pool to perfect my breast stroke, when I see the floor routines of the gymnasts, I can pretty much visualize my gold medal routine for London 2012, and really, “the rowing doesn’t look that hard”, I think to myself as I grab another handful of chips.
  • Although I am not usually a fan of cheering for any American athletes (sorry American readers, it’s not you, it’s me….and my Canadian pride), I have decided that I will join the Kerri Walsh and Misty-May Treanor cheering section. Because:
  1. beach volleyball is awesome to watch
  2. they are undefeated in over a year. I don’t care where you’re from, that deserves some Canadian props.
  • Finally Canada has won a medal (and now 15 thankyouverymuch), our whole country can breathe easy once again and go back to thinking about beer and hockey.
  • Synchronized diving you say? Sure, I’m sure I could master that…I spent 6 weeks in my orange-level swimming class about 12 years ago practicing my diving by putting my toes over the edge of the pool, bending my knees, putting my arms extended in front of my body with my hands pointed, and then just kind of falling into the pool. That’s about all it takes right?

Well that’s about all I’ve got for now. I would say it’s safe to expect that I probably won’t be blogging again until the closing ceremonies have taken place and the Olympics are over. I should have much more free time on my hands.

5 thoughts on “Let’s discuss the Olympics shall we?

  1. Karmyn says:

    tempting. Except for the fact that she had a little hissy fit when she won silver in the uneven bars and not gold. As if 4 medals isn’t enough for you.

  2. Julie says:

    Karmyn,
    Your blog just cracks me up! How can you just come up with these thoughts and remember them to put them on paper? Girl..you amaze me!
    Hope to see you guys soon. Let me know if you’re ever “in the area”!
    Julie

  3. Kendall says:

    Oh, they had Canadians at the Olympics? 🙂 Just kidding. My life can now finally go on, too, now that the closing ceremonies will be over. And I’m the most un-athletic person in the world!

Leave a Reply

