I hate goodbyes**

**(just picture Lloyd Christmas from Dumb and Dumber saying that)

We’re home.  And had a really great time away.  And I have pictures, and stories to share…but frankly am too lazy to do that tonight.  I will say that every time we go, it gets harder to leave.  It reminds me of when I was a kid, and we’d go visit our relatives out in Saskatchewan, and inevitably, with every visit, as I’d get put to bed on our last night there, gearing up for what was usually an early morning departure the next day, I’d cry myself to sleep.  I would sob and sob, and both of my parents, and both of my grandparents  would usually have to come console me for a bit, and the night would usually end with me falling asleep with my grandma rubbing my back.

Now that I’m all grown up, it’s not as socially acceptable to sob and sob and make people come rub my back the night before a goodbye, (although wouldn’t that be a sweet way to fall asleep? Everyone in the house having to come rub your back?)  but that doesn’t mean it gets any easier to say goodbye to people that we love.

Sure, we saw a lot, did a lot, laughed a lot and explored A LOT of the province of Nova Scotia.  But what really fills our hearts is those moments sitting around the kitchen table, drinking tea and eating mom’s famous brownies (If you’re wondering if I look a little pudgier these days, I do, and it’s because of those brownies), laughing together, teasing dad a little bit, playing cards and just being together. And leaving that behind is always hard. But even in the sadness, we can’t help but be thankful for the great family we have, and wouldn’t trade these times with them for any amount of easier goodbyes. 

Leave a Reply

