Stones

One of my favourite stories in the Bible is the one where Joshua and the Israelites need to cross the Jordan River, and God stops the water from running so they can cross on dry ground. (Joshua 4)  Afterward, Joshua tells the people to take 12 stones and put them at the place where they stopped on the other side.  They were to serve as a monument for all the people to follow in the years to come, so  that when people asked what they meant, they could answer about the amazing things God did for them.

I love it because I think it’s important for us to do that too. Look back over our lives and see the ways God did miracles.  And this week, I was reminded to look back in my own life and see stone, after stone, after stone of God’s hand at work.   Sometimes things are tough, and sometimes there are days when God feels like the furthest away he possibly could be.  And there are things that I’ve been praying about for years and have yet to see an answer.  And there are things that make my heart ache.  And when I start to wonder if God is really in control, or ask if this whole faith journey is really worth the effort, I need to look back at the pile of stones, and tell the stories of God’s work in my life.  Because when I do, I can’t help but be amazed at the way He’s led me, and I can’t help but trust that He has all my days in his hands.

So, here are some of my stones (definitely not an exhaustive list).  Probably more for me to read than you, but feel free.

  • The fact that I was put in the family that I was.  I’m adopted, and as I see the circumstances that surrounded my coming into being, and the series of events that put me in the family that I’m in, I can’t help but see God at work.
  • My mom being healed from breast cancer.
  • The time I really needed money for school and in the eleventh hour I got my OSAP letter.
  • The summers I got to spend working for Athletes in Action.  I learned and grew so much with each summer and each opportunity grew me in gifts that I use so often today.
  • Ben.
  • The time I turned down what seemed like my dream job because I just felt like I was supposed to.  At the time, I really didn’t get why I needed to say no, but today, it’s so much clearer.  (And it lead me to the job I have now)
  • The friends in my life.
  • The time I was on a missions trip in Trinidad, and we really needed it to not rain on a particular day because we were holding a campfire for all the kids at the camp we were running.  We prayed.  And the sky was entirely gray and cloudy, except for a circle of bright, blue sky right above our campfire spot.
  • My brothers.
  • Ben and I being healthy.

Well, there’s just a few.  What are your stones? Take some time today to think of the good in your life.  Look back and see where you have been blessed/taken care of/seen God work.  Whether you have a relationship with God or not, we all have moments that we can use as markers in our life.  Markers that point to the good that we have. Memories that remind us that we have much to be thankful for. I choose to thank God for these moments because they are by His hand that I have these stones.

5 thoughts on “Stones

  1. Denita says:

    For some reason, this post reminded me of something I read (and then wrote down) from Psalm 132: “I will not come under the roof of my house, nor climb into my bed; I will not allow my eyes to sleep, nor let my eyelids slumber; Until I find a place for the Lord, a dwelling for the Mighty One of Jacob.” Imagine if we/you did that everyday with these “altars”….

    • Denita says:

      Oh also this one too Exodus 20:24- “Build altars in the places where I remind you who I am, and I will come & bless you there”

  2. Karen says:

    Thanks for this Karmyn. It would make a really good sermon! I think your story is really inspiring as well, and I love that you are open to sharing it with others.

Leave a Reply

