Let’s Talk About It Shall We?

Well, apparently I should celebrate 5 years of marriage and get knocked up more often! Thanks to you all for the sweet comments and well wishes.  (well, not on this blog, but via facebook anyway.  I get that – it’s far easier to leave a comment there than have to log in to a blog just to leave a few words.)

So let’s discuss.  I figure the best place to start is a handy little FAQ for your enjoyment.  And really, if discussing pregnancy isn’t you bag, then just stop reading now, because that’s pretty much where this post is going…

1) How far along are you? (and….is that gut still just your gut? Or are you actually showing by now??  Ok, ok, no one has asked this question, but it’s SURE AS HECK ONE I ASK MYSELF ON A DAILY BASIS)

I’m around 14 weeks.  Meaning I’m through trimester one and sailing into trimester 2! This may seem quick to y’all who just found out, but I’ve never had three months crawl by so slowly. 

2) How are you feeling?

I can’t complain.  I definitely did not feel awesome the past 13 weeks, but I never barfed, for which I am very thankful.  I had my moments, felt pretty nauseous some mornings, but compared to some that I know, I really can’t complain.  I mostly just have to keep eating to make sure I feel ok.  I got a wicked bad cold in April that just about did me in, and I think it’s because my body was far more concerned with growing a baby then fighting off a cold, so there was three weeks in there that I felt like a crap-bag.   I’ve been exhausted, but that’s par for the course.  And hey  I’ve always been an expert napper, now I just have an excuse.

3) Will you make sure we get to see updates of your baby bump?

Umm, I’m not making any promises. I’m certainly not opposed to keeping you all in the loop, have no worries showing off my belly and think it would be fun.  BUUUUUT, I also suck at doing things on a regular basis.  So we’ll see.  

4) Will you find out what you’re having?

Not 100%  sure but we’re leaning towards no.  there’ something fun about the surprise, and as lame as this reason is, I kind of just want gender neutral presents, NOT just 50 cute little dresses or overalls, which is inevitably what happens when people know what you’re having.  (And yes, I’m being TOTALLY presumptuous that people will be getting us gifts…)

5) Any cravings?

Well, for a while, if I’m being honest, it was the oat-y goodness of the 9 grain honey oat bread at subway.  (and probably the crap-load of meat on it).  But really, not a lot.  I’ve definitely had food aversions or definite must haves on any given day depending on my nausea, but overall, nothing yet really.  

6) So….should we start praying for twins now..or later?

VERY FUNNY JERKS. We’re pretty sure there’s just one kid in there, but Ben thinks it’s funny to talk about the babies, and given the twins in his family, I guess it’s a possibility.  (We haven’t had an ultrasound….but there was only 1 heartbeat, so I think we’re safe)

7) Can I rub your stomach? 

Oh wait, no one ASKS to do this…they JUST DO.  And really, I didn’t think I’d be one of those people that would care – but at this point, it’s just kind of been weird.  Probably because I’m not really showing yet, so it just kind of feels like they’re trying to get a good ol’ feel of my gut fat…which in any other context, is just weird, but apparently now it’s totally ok for people to do that.  I’m not so sure.  We’ll see how this one plays out.   

So…those are some of the questions we seem to get on a constant basis.  We have been so thankful for the love and excitement people have shown us.  I’m not really a “hey, let’s put Karmyn at the centre of attention” kind of person, so I haven’t really known what to do with the shriek fests that have taken place with some of the people we’ve told.  But, it is really great to know people are genuinely happy for us.  

So….here’s to the next 6 months of baby-free living. You had BETTER believe that I’ll be sleeping in as much as possible.  

 

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About It Shall We?

  1. Maria says:

    Wow! Congratulations, Karmyn and Ben!! All the best during your pregnancy! And if you think those first three months slid by slowly, just wait until the last three… 🙂 Man, as an avid reader of your blog, I can’t believe it took me this long to find out.

Leave a Reply

