39.5 Weeks

(ok, so this picture is from over a week ago….but I pretty much look the same as I did then)

Things continue to go well – still feeling pretty good and haven’t yet reached the “ok, I’m totally ready for this to be over” stage yet.  I certainly don’t feel like I’m going to give birth in the imminent future, but I guess that’s the funny thing with babies, they can just up and surprise you with their arrival, so we’ll see.

I think we’re as ready as we’re going to be on this end.  It’s felt like a whirlwind of a month, trying to get things in place and organized, but after our panicked “crap, we’ll be screwed if the baby comes tonight” phase last month, we’ve made significant progress.  Such as actually organizing the baby’s room.  Instead of just shoving every item we’d acquired in the room and then shutting the door, most things now have a home.  It’s a good feeling knowing our baby won’t think it’s parents belong on Hoarders. 

We have very few baby clothes.  I’m not sure if this is a wise move, but it’s the truth so far. Part of the reason is that we don’t know what we’re having, and I don’t know if you’ve looked recently, but the “gender neutral” market seems to have taken a steep decline out there.  When we were in the States last month I thought I’d pick up a few things for cheap, but literally every kids store I went into was divided into 2 – boys on one side, girls on the other.  So I left empty handed.  And at this point, there are only so many white and yellow duck and bear outfits that our kid can own, so the closet is looking a little sparse.  Reason number 2 is that we’ve had several people tell us that once they know what we’ve had they have clothes for us, so truth be told, I’m just waiting for the freebies.  And reason number 3 is that I’m just a little nervous about the length of our baby.  I really didn’t want to stock up on newborn sleepers only to have our baby not fit into them because of how long it will be. (Have you SEEN this kid’s father?)   So, all that to say, it may be a dumb move, but we’re kind of holding out until this kid’s birth day to see what clothes it will need.  At which point I will send out my mother or mother in law to hastily buy clothes, just so that our baby also won’t think it’s parents belong on I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant. (worst show ever by the way…)

I realize this next point immediately puts me in the eye rolling category of over excited mom who documents stuff that literally NO ONE cares about, but she posts anyway, using the guise of “it’s for the grandparents”, even though really, they probably have better uses of their time as well, but I’m posting it anyway.  Here’s a little clip of Baby Bokma in all it’s glory.  I’ve said several times how much I love watching him/her move around, and I’ve also said how this kid just seems to KNOW when there are people around, and kind of freezes up. So I tricked it and took a video.  Actually, it’s still not that good – it also seemed to know when I was attempting to catch it on video and would slow down/stop moving.  But in any case, here’s a little taste of what keeps me entertained most hours of the day.   (Looking at the video, on your top right is where their little bum likes to sit, so you can see that part move up and down the most…and then towards the end, it hoofs me good with it’s feet waaay on the other side of my stomach)

Ben and I have parties galore this weekend, so I’m secretly kind of hoping this babe holds on for a few more days so I can squeeze in a weekend of fun – but I guess if he/she chooses to make its arrival early that would trump any work Christmas party anyway, so it’s kind of a win-win.

Enjoy your weekend!

4 thoughts on “39.5 Weeks

  1. Luanne Bokma says:

    Awesome video, Karmyn! Thanks for that! What a kick!! A soccer player for sure!! Thanks for mentioning the lack of clothing for your child. We’d be more than happy to help out in that area for our Christmas present to the little one. Sounds like a perfect plan to us!! Hopefully to you too.

  2. Sarah Q says:

    Hmmm never thought I’d find myself sitting intently watching a video of your belly on my iPhone at the airport… But wow was that fun 🙂 I’m creeping for baby updates, thinking of you guys and praying for you three, you look great! Can’t wait for the good news and until then will catch up on your blog 🙂 xox miss ya

Leave a Reply

