18 Weeks

So, officially today I’m 19 weeks.  This picture is me around 17 weeks.  So I figured I’d just split the difference and title this post 18 Weeks. Makes sense no?

DSC_0992

I really to make sure I document this pregnancy, much like I did with Ellie’s, so here we are! If you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time, you know that means not to expect much more than a monthly update, but who knows, maybe this time around I’ll feel motivated to weekly update you on how me and the wee one are doing.  (Um, don’t hold your breath)

So, onto the list.

People still ask how I’m feeling, and I’m happy to report things are going great!  The nausea has passed (for the most part – sometimes, if I don’t eat enough, I still feel off, but thankfully I’m a pro at shoving food down the ol’ gullet), and although I still take almost daily naps, I feel pretty good!  

I felt the baby move a few weeks ago, and let me tell you, this still remains the most incredible thing about being pregnant.  I didn’t feel Ellie move until almost 21 weeks (thanks to a front-lying placenta…which I’m SURE you all wanted to know about), and so it’s been fun to already see little kicks poke through.  So great.

In the “I can’t believe someone just said that to me” category – I’m happy to say I already have an “incident” to report.  I’m playing ultimate frisbee again this summer, and last night at our game t,he girl that was defending me just flat out asked me while we were on the field “So….are you HAVING a baby? Or did you just have one?”   Trust me, it took a lot of willpower not to respond with “Umm, neither – what are you talking about??”.  But SERIOUSLY – who asks that? There is really only a 33% chance that the response won’t be awkward, and lucky for her, the odds were in her favour and I actually AM pregnant.  Otherwise, it means that I just had a baby and am probably self conscious about my belly fat, OR, I’m none of the above, and that’s just a lose-lose all around.  Oh man, I love this part of pregnancy – I’m all about awkward strangers.

Let’s just discuss pregnancy brain for a moment.  Oh gosh guys, I’m almost ashamed to admit it, but it has been BAD.  My most *ahem* “shining” moment was last week, when my friend Nikki was visiting, and we decided to go strawberry picking.  Ben, Ellie, Nikki and I loaded up the car and were just about to head out of our driveway.  At this point, it’s important to note that we park our 2 cars one behind the other (because our tenant has 1/2 of our driveway).  It is also important to note that we happened to be getting into the car that was in the front.  (Meaning, the car closest to the house…meaning, there was another car parked behind it). And well….you can probably see where this is going…but, as you’ve guessed, I totally just started the car, put it in reverse, and drove RIGHT into our other car.  Now – in my defense – neither Ben OR Nikki noticed either, or said anything…but yes, it was me driving.  And yes, I did hit a parked car.  And yes, I did cause an accident between the 2 cars in our possession.  Thankfully, I clearly wasn’t going fast, and there wasn’t any damage, but seriously -WHO DOES THAT?  Pregnant ladies.  That’s who. 

Well, that about sums up life at 18 (19) weeks these days! Hard to believe I’m almost half way already.  This does, however mean, you get 20 more weeks of great pregnancy fodder to read. You lucky dog you.  

Leave a Reply

