Quick Takes

should  be working on my 2014 budget for my job…which was due last Friday…but here I am blogging.  (Hence the reason for the “quick” takes”). I have had zero time to work on the thing (ok, that’s an exaggeration…I did spend a few hours watching tv the last few nights, but frankly, anytime after 10 pm should be a no work zone yes?  Sadly, tonight, that won’t be the case)

Speaking of tv -Ben and I finally got our hands on season 2 of Homeland.  We ploughed through Season 1 on Netflix a few months ago, and have been waiting for season 2 (friends of ours came through – what heros!) Seriously people, if you haven’t seen this show, GET ON IT.  And if you have, and are all up to date with all three seasons, then DON’T JUDGE ME.  I’m always behind the times. ALWAYS.  That’s how I roll.  That’s why I had several “awkward phases” growing up.  Most people just have to endure one…but not me.  Braces in my twenties? Sure, why not.

Ellie is currently STILL AWAKE.  And it’s 10:26 pm.  She’s been in bed for three hours, mostly just talking away to herself, laughing, jumping and hanging out.  The last little bit has turned to crying, and I’m waffling on what to do. I feel bad for her – clearly her little mind is just spinning (and I know what that’s all about), and this is a pretty rare occurence, so she’s not just playing us for fools.  What do I do?  Leave her? Get her out and let her be up a little while longer? Just go hold her? Bah! These are the non-significant (as in life-threatening, or altering) parenting decisions that wear on a mama’s heart.  

I spent this evening cleaning my bedroom. (It’s a crazy scene all up in here, people) And it took me TWO HOURS.  (my 1st year university roommate Donna is totally not surprised) I truly thought that part of reaching adulthood would mean that I would be mature enough to maintain a clean room.  Sigh.  It’s never going to happen is it?   In fairness, I wasn’t just cleaning, I was sorting laundry, vacuuming, reorganizing, and moving some furniture around.  Which I will blog about soon.  We have been powering through our big to-do list any chance we get these days, and that has meant re-ordering how several of the rooms in our house look.  It’s fun for me to make sure everything has a home, and eases my anal-retentive self to know we are getting ever closer to having things in place for our expanding family.  (Don’t get me wrong, we have A HECK-A-LONG way to go still, but baby steps right?)

Well, I’m off to the land of budgeting.  (Cleaning and budgeting in one night? I know what you’re all thinking: This girl is OFF THE HOOK)  Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

