And Now I Can Breathe

This one will be quick, but will hopefully serve as a connector post.  You know – the one where you realize you haven’t blogged in a while and you just need to get something down on the blog so that you can carry on with posting the real things going on  in your life?  

We had our youth retreat this past weekend and today was just one long collective sigh of relief.  I know I’ve said this many times before, but putting together a youth retreat is A LOT of work.  And it is the kind of work that is neverending, unless you let it be.  Because there is always something you can be working on, preparing, improving or packing leading up to a weekend like this.  And don’t get me wrong, it is always SO worth it, consistently a highlight of my job, and I came home with such a big smile on my face.  But to have it behind me, means that my shoulders do feel exponentially lighter.

I have one week left of work before maternity leave, and this week is actually quite busy, but it sure doesn’t feel like it.  (ok, so I AM out  4 nights this week…) BUT –  It feels like I have ALL! THE! TIME! IN! THE! WORLD!, and it was SO nice to have today to recoup, spend time with my family and not have anything hanging over my head.  

And so tonight, in honour of having this rare thing called free time, I sauntered up to the bathroom, drew myself a nice hot,long bath (with a detox bodywash that truly leaves me feeling amazing), propped the ipad on the toilet and watched old SNL on Netflix.   It’s like being classy, except I don’t have a clawfoot tub, and I’m basking in the limelight of a tv screen while watching a show, instead of basking in the limelight of candles while listening to symphony music.  It’s ok.  It’s how I roll.   

And then, apparently, I fell asleep – which Ben found quite humorous when he returned home from yoga to find me (safely) asleep in the tub, and tried talking to me, but I wouldn’t even wake up.  (And THAT, my friends, is what you call the post-retreat hangover).   

And although there is so much that lay ahead of us (read: preparing for a BABY), tonight, I’m choosing to ignore the to-do list and bask in glow of being post-retreat.    I’ll be back soon!

 

Leave a Reply

